top of page


We offer a carefully structured series of awards to suit every age and level of student.

BTDA Graded Examinations in Dance make a significant contribution to education and the performing arts because they:

encourage individual students to express themselves through dance

enable students to work towards qualifications that open up career opportunities, place an emphasis on performance, provide students with opportunities to experience, understand and value the language and art of dance. Enable students to develop a broad base of skills and abilities in different disciplines, allow students to develop their social skills and their own personalities .

BTDA examinations are accredited into the NATIONAL QUALIFICATIONS FRAMEWORK

The first level - Baby Mime Medals - is designed for the youngest of candidates to perform short themed sequences under supervision

Rose Award System make up the next level - These have been designed to build confidence in candidates from 5 to 10 years old.

Rose Awards are a stepping stone to the comprehensive performance awards. Our Medal Test System, takes candidates from 'Medals' through 'Stars', 'Shields' to 'Statuettes' and the highest level - 'Cups'.

BTDA also offers The Crystal Awards programme of study. This is a progressive set of awards that is based on the graded structure of the BTDA examinations.

The BTDA, working alongside Ron Heavy, MBE, a specialist working extensively with Downs Syndrome students, has developed examinations for candidates within the Special Needs Programme. The candidates can follow ballet, tap or modern dance leading to a Pass or Pass Merit.

A series of Non-NQF and NQF General Graded Examinations in Theatre Dance make up the next level. Students follow a carefully designed syllabus that aims to develop amoungst many things, personal expression, social and physical skills, teamwork and performance.

The disciplines of ballet, tap, modern, Greek, lyrical and acrobatic dance can be pursued with preliminary examinations starting at Pre-preparatory, then Preparatory, Primary and lastly to an Introduction to Grade 1.

Auxiliary subjects (in National Dance, Choreography, Modelling and Speech and Drama, Performing Arts and Educational Freestyle) take students from Preparatory and Primary levels, through several Grades and Diplomas depending on the subject chosen.

Awards for Graded Examinations are a pass, merit or distiction.

Graded Vocational Examinations in Theatre Dance are the highest level of qualification provided by the BTDA. Students study the disciplines of classical ballet, tap and modern jazz starting at an intermediate level, through three advanced levels to the Diploma in Theatre Dance. The syllabus includes performance skills and technique, choreography, direction and teaching and the cultural and physiological aspects of dance.

Exam Classes (NQF Qualifications)

Ballet, Modern, Tap, Acrobatics, Lyrical

Grade 1

Grade 2

Grade 3

Grade 4

Grade 5

Grade 6

Grade 7

Grade 8

Exam Classes (Vocational Examinations)

Ballet, Modern, Tap


Advanced 1

Advance Foundation

Advanced 2


Teaching Qualifications

Ballet, Modern, Tap

Certificate in dance teaching assistant

Certificate in dance teaching

Diploma in dance teaching

bottom of page